How to Look Up Howard County Jail Population Data
The primary source for Howard County jail population data is the Howard County Department of Corrections page on the county's official website. That page describes the detention facility, its rated capacity, staffing, programs, and accreditation status. It does not include a live inmate count or an average daily population figure that updates on a set schedule. No open-data dashboard was located on official county sources during research for this page.
For statewide jail and prison population data, the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services publishes information on sentenced state inmates. The DPSCS site covers state prisons, not the county detention facility. For national-level data and trend reports covering local jails including Howard County, the Bureau of Justice Statistics releases an annual Jail Inmates report that includes county-level figures collected from jail administrators across the country. Those BJS reports are the best available source when the county itself does not publish a current population number.
People who want to confirm whether a specific person is in custody at the Howard County Detention Center should contact the facility directly at the address below rather than relying on aggregate population statistics. Aggregate data tells you how many people are held in general terms. It does not confirm individual custody status.
Howard County Jail Capacity Overview
The Howard County Detention Center at 7301 Waterloo Road in Jessup is the county's only active detention facility. The Howard County Corrections page states the facility has a rated capacity of 475 and a staffing level of 153 employees. Rated capacity is the official figure set by state standards and used for planning and compliance purposes. It is not a maximum that triggers automatic action; rather, it is the number of beds the facility is designed and accredited to operate under normal conditions.
The facility holds adult male and female offenders at multiple custody stages, including pretrial detainees waiting for a court date, pre-sentenced individuals who have been convicted but not yet sentenced, and sentenced individuals serving terms of under two years or awaiting transfer to a state facility. The Corrections Department also operates a Central Booking Facility as part of its responsibilities, though capacity for that component is not separately listed in public sources.
The table below reflects the current and historical rated capacity figures from official county sources. Current population is not published by the county and is therefore not shown.
| Facility | Location | Rated Capacity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Howard County Detention Center | 7301 Waterloo Road, Jessup, MD 20794 | 475 | Active (current) |
| Jessup detention center (1994 expansion) | Jessup | 361 | Historical capacity before expansion |
| Jessup detention center (1983 opening) | Jessup | 108 | Historical capacity at opening |
| Original Ellicott City jail | Ellicott City | 12 | Historical only; opened 1878 |
Note: Howard County does not publish a live daily population count, so no current occupancy figure is available from official public sources.
Average Daily Population in Howard County Jail
Average daily population, often called ADP, is the standard metric used to compare jail use across facilities. It is calculated by dividing total jail-days in a year by 365. Howard County does not publish an official ADP figure on its public website. The county's Corrections page gives rated capacity and staff count but does not include a current-year ADP, a year-over-year comparison, or a capacity utilization percentage.
The most reliable way to find ADP data for Howard County is through the Bureau of Justice Statistics Annual Survey of Jails, which collects ADP and one-day count data from local jails nationwide each year. Results are published in the BJS Jail Inmates series and in the BJS data tool at bjs.ojp.gov. The Vera Institute of Justice also tracks county-level incarceration trends and publishes multi-year ADP data through its Incarceration Trends tool. Both sources are based on data that jail administrators report and are the best available proxies when the county itself does not release current population figures publicly.
Until the county publishes its own ADP or a researcher pulls the BJS survey data for Howard County, the rated capacity of 475 is the only official bed-count number confirmed by the county's public sources.
Howard County Detention Center Demographic Breakdown
Howard County does not publish a demographic breakdown of its jail population on its public website. No official gender, race, or age distribution table was found in the county's accessible sources during research. The Corrections page confirms the facility holds adult male and female offenders but does not give the percentage split by gender or any racial or ethnic breakdown.
National context from the Bureau of Justice Statistics provides some framing. According to BJS data on the general U.S. jail population, males make up roughly 85 percent of the jail population nationally. That figure varies by county. Racial and ethnic composition also varies significantly across jurisdictions. Some counties with lower overall incarceration rates still show demographic patterns similar to national norms; others diverge based on local law enforcement practices, population composition, and diversion programs. Howard County operates diversion and treatment programs at the Detention Center, which can affect who ultimately enters and stays in custody.
The table below shows national reference figures from BJS for context. These are not Howard County figures. They reflect the national jail population as reported in recent BJS Jail Inmates reports.
| Group | National Share of Jail Population (BJS context) |
|---|---|
| Male | Approximately 85% |
| Female | Approximately 15% |
| White (non-Hispanic) | Approximately 47% |
| Black (non-Hispanic) | Approximately 34% |
| Hispanic | Approximately 15% |
| Other/multiracial | Approximately 4% |
Howard County-specific demographic data is not available in public county sources. For official county figures, contact the Howard County Department of Corrections or request data through the Howard County Public Information Act page.
Pretrial vs. Sentenced Population at Howard County Jail
The Howard County Corrections page confirms the Detention Center holds pretrial, pre-sentenced, and sentenced adults. It does not publish the percentage split between those groups. This is a common gap in county jail transparency. Many counties track this data internally but do not post it on public pages. The pretrial share of the jail population matters because pretrial detainees have not been convicted of anything yet; they are held because a court ordered detention or because they could not post bail.
Nationally, the pretrial share of the local jail population has grown substantially over the past two decades. BJS data shows that pretrial detainees now make up more than 70 percent of the local jail population on a given day in the United States. Maryland has taken some steps to reduce unnecessary pretrial detention through bail reform discussions and the use of pretrial services programs, but county-level figures vary. The Circuit Court and District Court in Howard County both handle bail decisions, with commissioners setting initial conditions and judges reviewing them at bail review hearings.
| Status | Howard County Figure | National Context (BJS) |
|---|---|---|
| Pretrial | Not published by county | Approximately 70% of local jail population nationally |
| Pre-sentenced | Not published by county | Included in pretrial count in most BJS reporting |
| Sentenced | Not published by county | Approximately 30% of local jail population nationally |
The county does not disclose its own pretrial ratio in official public sources. Researchers seeking that data can submit a Public Information Act request to Howard County or query BJS survey data for Howard County specifically.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony Population at Howard County Jail
The Howard County Detention Center holds people charged with or convicted of a range of offenses. The facility is not limited to misdemeanor cases. It holds people in the full range of custody stages, from new arrests on minor charges to people awaiting Circuit Court trial on serious felonies. The Detention Center also holds people sentenced to terms that do not require transfer to a state facility.
Howard County does not publish a breakdown of its jail population by charge type or offense level. No felony versus misdemeanor percentage table was located in official public sources. Nationally, local jails hold a mix of both, with felony charges making up a larger share of the pretrial population at county detention centers because lower-level misdemeanor cases tend to resolve faster or result in release on recognizance. According to BJS national data, violent offenses, drug offenses, and property offenses collectively account for the majority of local jail admissions. Public order offenses make up most of the remainder.
To get charge-type data specific to Howard County, the best path is a Public Information Act request to the Department of Corrections or a review of BJS Annual Survey of Jails results for this jurisdiction. The criminal records page covers how arrest charges and dispositions are recorded in the court system for public cases.
Mental Health and Medical Population at Howard County Detention Center
The Howard County Department of Corrections addresses mental health and medical needs as part of its core operations. The Corrections page states that programs at the Detention Center include health and mental health care, substance-use-disorder counseling, and medication-assisted treatment. That last item matters: medication-assisted treatment, or MAT, involves FDA-approved medications such as buprenorphine or methadone used alongside counseling to treat opioid use disorder. Offering MAT inside a jail is not standard practice at every facility; its inclusion in Howard County's listed programs signals a more treatment-oriented approach to substance-use issues in custody.
The Detention Center also opened a Behavioral Mental Health Unit, referred to as the BMHU. The Corrections page describes this as a dedicated housing unit with rehabilitative and social programs for residents who have behavioral or mental health needs. A separate housing unit for this population allows the facility to provide specialized programming rather than managing mental health cases within the general population. It also helps with medication management, crisis intervention, and continuity of care for people who were already receiving community mental health services before entering custody.
Howard County does not publish a percentage of its jail population that receives mental health or medical treatment. That figure is not disclosed in current public sources. Nationally, BJS data and research from the Vera Institute indicate that a large share of the local jail population has mental health needs or substance use disorders. Studies have put the share of jail inmates with a mental health condition at 44 percent or higher. The availability of MAT and the BMHU at the Howard County facility suggests the Department of Corrections recognizes this population and tries to address it.
National and State Context for Howard County Jail Population
The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects and publishes jail data through its Annual Survey of Jails and the Census of Jails. These reports give the most reliable comparison of local jail populations across the country. The standard metric for cross-county comparison is the jail incarceration rate per 100,000 residents. A county with a small population and a large jail will have a high rate; a densely populated county with a small jail will have a low rate. Howard County has one of the larger populations in Maryland and a facility rated for 475 people.
Maryland's statewide jail incarceration rate tends to run below the national average, which BJS has placed at roughly 220 to 230 per 100,000 in recent reporting years. Maryland has a mix of large urban jurisdictions with higher rates and suburban counties with lower rates. Howard County is a suburban county with a population of over 330,000, making it one of the more populous counties in the state. A facility rated for 475 beds serves a large base, which tends to produce a lower per-capita rate than rural or smaller counties with proportionally larger jails.
The table below uses BJS and general Maryland data for context. The Howard County per-100,000 rate cannot be calculated precisely without a current official population count, so the county row shows the rated capacity translated into an approximate ceiling rate rather than an observed rate. The state and national figures are from BJS reports and are labeled as such.
| Level | Jail Incarceration Rate per 100,000 | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Howard County (rated capacity basis) | Approx. 143 at full capacity (475 / 331,000 pop.) | County Corrections page; U.S. Census estimate |
| Maryland (statewide) | Below national average; approx. 150-180 range | BJS Annual Survey of Jails context |
| National | Approx. 220-230 | Bureau of Justice Statistics, Jail Inmates series |
These figures are provided for comparison only. The Howard County figure is an approximation based on rated capacity, not a live count. Howard County's actual rate on any given day depends on how full the facility is. The national and state figures reflect BJS reporting and will shift with updated surveys. For current BJS data, visit bjs.ojp.gov.
Howard County Jail Population Trends Over Time
The most detailed population trend available from official county sources is the history of rated capacity. Howard County has documented this progression on the Corrections page, and it reflects a facility that grew substantially from its origins as a small county lockup to a medium-size suburban detention center.
The capacity trend shows four distinct phases. The original jail in Ellicott City opened in 1878 with 12 beds. That structure was built for the scale of a 19th-century county with a much smaller population. The county established its Division of Corrections in 1975. By 1983 a new facility opened in Jessup with rated capacity of 108 beds. It opened holding 63 people. Within five years the population had already exceeded that rated capacity, which prompted the 1994 expansion. That expansion brought the rated capacity to 361. The current published capacity is 475, and the facility underwent visible renovation work as recently as 2025 based on imagery on the county's website.
- 1878: Original Ellicott City jail opens with 12-bed capacity.
- 1975: Division of Corrections established as a county entity.
- 1983: New Jessup detention center opens at 108 rated capacity, initially holding 63 people.
- Late 1980s: Population exceeds 108-bed rated capacity within five years of opening.
- 1994: Expansion completes, raising rated capacity to 361.
- Current: Rated capacity stands at 475 with a staff of 153 employees.
No official five-year ADP trend table was located in public county sources. For a quantitative multi-year trend line, the BJS Annual Survey of Jails and Vera Institute incarceration-trends tool are the best available sources. Both use data reported by local jail administrators. Researchers or journalists seeking a precise Howard County ADP trend can also file a Public Information Act request with the Department of Corrections under the Howard County PIA process.
The Howard County Department of Corrections has maintained 100 percent compliance with Maryland Commission on Correctional Standards since the Commission was established in 1980. That record is noted on the official Corrections page and reflects continuous adherence to state facility and operational standards across the entire period of the facility's growth.
Searching for Howard County Inmate Records by Name
Population data describes the facility as a whole. It does not tell you whether a specific person is in custody. For name-based lookups of individual inmates at the Howard County Detention Center, visit the Howard County inmate records page, which covers how to contact the Detention Center directly and how to use the Maryland DPSCS locator for state-sentenced individuals. The released-inmates page at released inmates covers custody notifications and post-release information. For arrest and charge history, the criminal records page explains how public case records work in Maryland courts. Warrant information is covered on the warrant records page.
Where the Howard County Jail Population Data Comes From
The official primary source for Howard County jail capacity figures is the Howard County Department of Corrections page on howardcountymd.gov. That page published the rated capacity of 475 and staffing level of 153 as of the research date for this page. It also provides the facility's history, programs, accreditation status, and contact links. The page does not include a live count or an ADP figure for the current year.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the federal source for annual jail data. BJS surveys local jail administrators each year through the Annual Survey of Jails and periodically through the full Census of Jails. Its Jail Inmates reports give national, state, and county-level figures on population, ADP, admissions, demographics, and pretrial status. BJS is operated by the Office of Justice Programs at the U.S. Department of Justice.
The Vera Institute of Justice publishes the Incarceration Trends project, which tracks county-level jail and prison population data over time using BJS survey data combined with other administrative sources. Vera's tool allows multi-year comparisons at the county level and is useful for understanding how Howard County's jail population has changed relative to state and national trends. Both BJS and Vera are reliable, non-commercial research sources for jail population context.
For Maryland state prison population data separate from the local jail, the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services at dpscs.state.md.us is the official state source. State prison figures cover people who have been sentenced to terms long enough to warrant transfer out of the county facility, which is a different population from those held at the Howard County Detention Center.